Region I
Hosts 49th Annual Canadian Tax Conference

print this article

TEI Region I’s three-day 49th Annual Canadian Tax Conference at the Chateau Laurier in Ottawa in May provided technical sessions and panels with representatives from the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA) and Department of Finance (DOF). CRA’s income tax panel featured Mickey Sarazin, director general, Income Tax Rulings Directorate; Randy Hewlett, director, International Division; and Stephane Prud Homme, director, Reorganizations Division. CRA’s commodity tax panel included Danielle Laflèche, director general, Excise and GST/HST rulings, and Kira Sherry, director, Small and Medium Business Audit Division. Richard Montroy, assistant commissioner, Compliance Programs Branch, provided the CRA’s 2015 priorities during the morning plenary. DOF’s income tax panel featured Alexandra Maclean, director, Tax Legislation Division, and Trevor McGowan, legislative chief. DOF’s commodity tax panel featured Carlos Achadinha, senior chief-general, Operations and Border Issues.

TEI International President Mark Silbiger provided first-day luncheon remarks. Hon. Kerry-Lynne Findlay, national Minister of Revenue, delivered the second-day luncheon speech, after which Paul Magrath presented Ivan Bastasic with the Institute’s Distinguished Service Award. The July/August Tax Executive Institute News at discusses Ivan and his achievements.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

XHTML: You can use these tags <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>